top of page

Über die hunter-brüder

John Hunter war der älteste von sieben Söhnen von Henry und Emily Hunter aus Nanango, Queensland. Pater Henrys Gesundheit verschlechterte sich und die Jungen mussten im Sägewerk helfen, das ihr Vater lief. Der 25-jährige Jim wollte sich dem Militär anschließen, um in Europa zu kämpfen. Er meldete sich am 23. Oktober 1916 freiwillig. Als älterer Bruder (und enger Freund) hielt John es für seine Pflicht, seinen jüngeren Bruder zu beschützen, und meldete sich zwei Tage später ebenfalls freiwillig. John und Jim verließen Sydney am 24. Januar 1917 an Bord der HMAT Ayrshire. Sie wurden zum 49. Bataillon eingezogen, einer Einheit, die hauptsächlich aus Queenslandern bestand. Sie segelten nach Ägypten, um ihre Ausbildung abzuschließen, und wurden fast ein Jahr später nach Frankreich gebracht. Jim wurde schnell zum Lance Corporal befördert, war aber mit dem Rang eines Privaten zufrieden, wenn er bei seinem älteren Bruder John bleiben konnte.

Das 49. Bataillon wurde für die Schlacht von Polygon Wood an die Front geschickt. Im Morgengrauen würden sie angreifen, aber kurz bevor der Angriff begann, wurde John ausgesandt, um ein Stück glänzendes Metall im Niemandsland zu untersuchen. Als John herauskroch, wurde er durch die Explosion einer Artillerie-Granate zurückgeworfen und schwer verwundet. Es gelang ihm, in seine eigenen Gräben zurückzukehren, aber er starb in den Armen seines Bruders. Jim musste angreifen, brachte aber später die Leiche seines älteren Bruders John auf einen provisorischen Friedhof in Westhoek und begrub ihn mit seinen eigenen Händen. Er bedeckte den Körper liebevoll und sorgfältig mit einem Standard-Grundblatt der Armee, damit er gut erhalten blieb. Jim versprach, nach dem Krieg zurückzukehren und die menschlichen Überreste seines älteren Bruders John nach Australien zurückzubringen. Er kehrte tatsächlich 1918 zurück,

Auch Jim wurde später im Krieg verwundet, eine dieser Wunden bei einem Gasangriff. Er schaffte es jedoch, die Hölle zu überleben und kehrte nach Australien zurück. Zu Hause heiratete er Esme Margaret Bulter, mit der er 6 Kinder hatte. Als ein wahnsinniger Jim seinen letzten Atemzug machte, rief er den Namen seines Bruders, der an einem weit entfernten Ort namens Flanders Fields begraben lag.

Der Name John Hunter wurde 1927 auf dem Menin Gate Memorial für die Vermissten aufgeführt, aber durch DNA-Forschung wurde der Körper 2007 identifiziert. Es war Mollie Millis, Johns Nichte, die die passende DNA lieferte. 90 Jahre nach seinem Tod wurde John zusammen mit den anderen 4 Soldaten, die von Johan Vandewalle und seinem Team exhumiert wurden, mit voller militärischer Ehre auf dem Buttes New British Cemetery in Polygon Wood beigesetzt.

BIAMP - 2021-10-07 - Website - John & Jim.png

Also Jim was wounded later on in the war, one of those wounds sustained in a gas attack. He managed to survive the hell, though, and returned to Australia. Back home he married Esme Margaret Bulter, with whom he had 6 children. When a dementing Jim drew his last breath, he called out the name of his brother who lay buried in a faraway place called Flanders Fields.

The name of John Hunter was listed on the Menin Gate Memorial to the Missing in 1927, but through DNA research the body was identified in 2007. It was Mollie Millis, John’s niece, who provided the matching DNA. 90 years after his death John was reburied with full military honour at Buttes New British Cemetery in Polygon Wood, together with the other 4 soldiers that were exhumed by Johan Vandewalle and his team.

bottom of page

About the hunter brothers

John Hunter was the eldest of 7 sons of Henry and Emily Hunter from Nanango, Queensland. Father Henry’s health was deteriorating and the boys needed to help out in the sawmill their father ran. 25-year-old Jim wanted to join the military to fight in Europe. He volunteered on 23rd October 1916. As older brother (and close friend) John thought it his duty to protect his younger brother and volunteered as well two days later. John and Jim left Sydney aboard HMAT Ayrshire on 24th January 1917. They were drafted to the 49th battalion, a unit that consisted of mostly Queenslanders. They sailed to Egypt to complete their training and were taken to France nearly a year later. Jim was quickly promoted to Lance Corporal, but was satisfied with the rank of Private if he could stay with his elder brother John.

49th Battalion was sent up to the front line for the Battle of Polygon Wood. At dawn they would attack, but just before the attack started, John was sent out to investigate a piece of shiny metal in no-man’s land. As John crawled out, he was thrown back by the explosion of an artillery shell and was severely wounded. He managed to crawl back to his own trenches, but died in his brother’s arms. Jim had to go in for the attack, but later brought the body of his elder brother John to a temporary cemetery at Westhoek and buried him with his own hands. He lovingly and carefully covered the body with a standard Army issue ground sheet, so it would preserve the body well. Jim promised to come back after the war and take the human remains of his elder brother John back to Australia. He did indeed return in 1918, only to see that the terrain was so badly destroyed by artillery shelling that he had no idea where the graves were, and he had no idea where to start digging for the body.

BIAMP - 2021-10-07 - Website - John & Jim.png

Also Jim was wounded later on in the war, one of those wounds sustained in a gas attack. He managed to survive the hell, though, and returned to Australia. Back home he married Esme Margaret Bulter, with whom he had 6 children. When a dementing Jim drew his last breath, he called out the name of his brother who lay buried in a faraway place called Flanders Fields.

The name of John Hunter was listed on the Menin Gate Memorial to the Missing in 1927, but through DNA research the body was identified in 2007. It was Mollie Millis, John’s niece, who provided the matching DNA. 90 years after his death John was reburied with full military honour at Buttes New British Cemetery in Polygon Wood, together with the other 4 soldiers that were exhumed by Johan Vandewalle and his team.